The Carl Menger Essay Contest


The Carl Menger essay contesthas a new online home at and two new co-sponsors, the Foundation for Economic Education and the Charles Koch Foundation.

The winners for 2012 were:


Colin Harris

Florida State University

“Piracy as a Common Pool Resource: A Case Study of Online Pirate Communities Avoiding Tragedy”

Adam McGoldrick

Queens University Belfast

“Robust Monetary Regimes”

Patrick Newman

Rutgers University

“The Long Depression of 1873-1879: An Austrian Examination”

The 2012 winners with the judges and the Menger Prize Committee. From left to right: Michael Thomas, Patrick Newman, Daniel Smith, Adam Martin, Colin Harris, Daniel D’Amico, Jeremy Horpedahl, and Diana Thomas.

Not pictured: Emily Skarbek and winner Adam McGoldrick.

The winners of the 2011 contest were:

Zachary Caceres

New York University

“Status Quo Bias and State Legitimacy: Framing Effects of the Institutional Status Quo”


Liya Palagashvili

George Mason University

“Institutional Un-stickiness in Armenia: A Case Study of the Armenian Culture and Informal Institutions”


Andrew Marcum

Duke University

“The Chinese Massacre of 1871: A Perverse Emergent Order Perspective”


The 2011 winners with the Menger Prize Committee. From left to right: Zachary Caceres, Daniel D’Amico, Andrew Marcum, Liya Palagashvili, Adam Martin, Emily Skarbek, Michael Thomas, Diana Thomas, and Jeremy Horpedahl.

The winners for 2010 were:

Rizqi Rachmat

George Mason University

“Notes from the Underground: The Social Spaces of Urban Arts Communities in Action”

Jacob Roundtree

Colby College

“An Austrian Challenge to Public Choice Theory: The Case of Japan’s Lost Decade”

Michael Wiebe

University of Manitoba

“Toward an Anarchist Constitutional Political Economy”

Daniel D’Amico, Rizqi Rachmat, Jacob Roundtree, Michael Wiebe, and Adam Martin

at the SDAE 2010 annual dinner.

The image of Menger above appears courtesy of the Instituto Ludwig von Mises Brasil.